Anxious Happiness 不安なる幸せ

My mind is fuzzy; my parched mouth refuses to close; my leaden chest moves in and out rapidly, unusually so; my perspiry fingers clenches the sleek rectangle with much difficulty; my legs tremble slightly, only slightly, such that no unwanted noise is made, not that there’s anyone to hear it.

What must I do? What should I do? What can I do? What will I do?

I sit on the edge of the bed. The mattress is soft… no, hard? I hastily tap my smartphone’s screen, without which I would be tapping in stygian umbra.

‘smzowru’.
“There are no search results.”

No good. Let me try again.

‘qmcieyi’.
“There are no search results.”

Damn it… Come on…

‘amziery’.
“There are no search results. Did you mean ‘anxiety’?”

There…!

I tap the blue underlined text with felicitous accuracy.

“Anxiety is an unpleasant state of inner turmoil, often accompanied by nervous behavior, such as pacing back and forth, somatic complaints and rumination…”

I don’t need this… I don’t need to read this to know… Who cares what ‘somatic’ means anyway…

I drag my finger across the screen from down to up rather erratically.

“How to manage anxiety: Steps to calm yourself down”

Yes… Yes… this is what I need…

“Name 5 things you can see.”

Things I can see…

A man?
A woman?
My blank paper. I know it’s mine because… Well, it’s mine.
A glint.
Red. Or crimson. What’s the difference? They’re both essentially black.

What next…?

“Breathe.”

I breathe a shallow breath. I feel the frigid wind cut my throat.
It hurts.
But it doesn’t bother me.
I’ve felt greater pain. No. Torment.

Anyway, I think I’m getting somewhere. I already feel calmer. I don’t feel my legs fidgeting anymore. Though, maybe that’s because my legs are exhausted from dancing and have become numb.

Next…

What must I do? What should I do? What can I do? What will I do?

I must score well, so that I can enrol at a good university, and land a good job.

‘Good, at least you know that it’s for your own sake.’

I drag my finger across the screen from down to up rather erratically.

“Name 4 things you can feel.”

Feel…

My smartphone.
Something viscous. It doesn’t say I need to identify it.
Dryness.
Coldness…? Is that something one can feel? Technically, I’m simply not feeling much warmth, so I guess this doesn’t… ah, whatever.

I’m surprised my numb limbs can still feel.

“Breathe.”

I breathe a shallow breath. I feel the frigid wind cut my throat.
It hurts.
But it doesn’t bother me.
Then again, just because it doesn’t bother me, it doesn’t mean I should let it be. I’ll try the nose the next time.

What should I do? What can I do? What will I do?

I should understand the world, its rules and its laws.

‘Wrong answer.’

Sorry.

I should understand the worlds, their rules and their laws.

‘Correct, but you jolly well not make the same stupid mistake.’

I drag my finger across the screen from down to up.

“Name 3 things you can hear.”

Silence.

I guess that counts as one. Two more.

Nothing else.

No.

I hear…

Shouting.
Screaming.

Do those count as two? But they’re coming from different people. So I think they’re different. Oh, I also hear my breathing and my heartbeats, though they asked for only three things. Do I get bonus marks?

“Breathe.”

I breathe a deep breath. I feel the frigid wind cut my throat.
It hurts.
I forgot to try the nose. It’s okay, right? We all make mistakes. I won’t forget it the next time.

What can I do? What will I do?

I can play a lovely tune, paint a pretty picture, or write a meaningful story.

‘There is no meaning. What must you do? What should you do?’

I understand.

I drag my finger across the screen from down to up.

“Name 2 things you can smell.”

Iron.
Decay.

I’m sure there are other smells, but these two smelled nice together. A nice, redolent blend.

“Breathe.”

I breathe a deep breathe through my nose. I feel the chilly wind cut my throat.
It hurts.
But it’s not that bad. I think I’ve mostly calmed down. Now, the last step.

What will I do?

I WILL REJECT ALL, AND DO WHAT I WANT.

I drag my finger across the screen from down to up.

“Name 1 thing that makes you happy.”

That is…
…easy.

*******.

I smile at the thought.

Yes, I’ve calmed down.

Now, everything is fine.
Now, everything is good.
Now, everything is happy.

Now.

Now, I am happy.

“Breathe.”

Do I need to? I’m okay with the way everything is now.

Now is fine.
Now is good.
Now is happy.

I press my smartphone’s power button once.

I see nothing.
I feel none and all.
I hear everything.
I breathe a deep breathe through my nose. I feel the pleasant wind becoming one with me.

And the wind brings with it the smell of happiness.

—–

頭がもやもやしている。からからと渇いた唇を閉じさせない。重苦しい胸が速やかに拡大したり縮小したりするように動く、異常なほどまでに。汗ばんだ指が滑らかな長方形を握るのに苦労する。脚が少し震える、少しだけ、望まない雑音を立てないように。聴く人がいないけれど。

しなければならないことは?するべきことは?できることは?することは?

ベッドの端に座る。マットレスは柔らかい…いや、硬い?スマホの画面を急いで軽く叩く。スマホがなければ、真っ暗な闇で軽く叩くんだ。

『ぢえんあいうへお』
「『ぢえんあいうへお』に一致する情報は見つかりませんでした。」

ダメだ。もう一回やろう。

『ぐあんどうばい』
「『ぐあんどうばい』に一致する情報は見つかりませんでした。」

クッソ…もう…

『ふあんそうがい』
「次の検索結果を表示しています:不安障害」

これだ…!

下線を施した青いテキストを折り良い的確さで軽く叩く。

「不安障害(ふあんしょうがい)とは、過剰な反すうや心配、恐怖の特徴を有するいくつかの異なる種類の一般的な精神障害を含んだ総称である…」

これ要らないよ…これを読まなくてもわかるよ…しかも『反すう』ってどういう意味なのかはどうでもいいだろう…

指を画面の下から上へやや不規則にスコールする。

「不安障害を克服する方法:自分を落ち着かせるステップ」

そう…そう…これが私に必要なんだ…

「見えるものを5つ挙げてください。」

見えるもの…

男の人?
女の人?
私の白紙。私のものだとわかる理由は…まあ、私のものだ。
ひとつの煌き。
赤。それとも紅(くれない)。違いはあるか?本質的にどちらも黒だし。

次は…?

「呼吸をしてください。」

浅い呼吸をする。凍った風が喉を切るのを感じる。
痛い。
でも気にしない。
これより大きな苦痛を感じたことある。いや、激痛だ。

とにかく、うまくいくと思う。もう少し落ち着いた気がする。脚がもうせかせかしていない。脚が踊りすぎて疲れて麻痺したからかもしれないけれど。

次は…

しなければならないことは?するべきことは?できることは?することは?

良い大学に入学することができるために、良い仕事に就くために、良い点数を取らなければならない。

『良い。少なくとも自分のためだと知っている。』

指を画面の下から上へやや不規則にスコールする。

「感じられるものを4つ挙げてください。」

感じる…

私のスマホ。
粘ったもの。何ものだと鑑定しなければならないと書かれてない。
乾燥。
寒気…?これって感じられるものなのか?厳密的に言えば、私はただ暖気をあまり感じてないので、寒気ってダメなわけか…まあいいや。

麻痺した肢(し)がまだ感じることができることにビックリだよ。

「呼吸をしてください。」

浅い呼吸をする。凍った風が喉を切るのを感じる。
痛い。
でも気にしない。
とはいえ、気にしないからと言ってもこのまま放っておくべきじゃない。今度は鼻で呼吸する。

するべきことは?できることは?することは?

私は世界を、世界の規則を、世界の法規を理解すべきだ。

『違う。』

ごめんなさい。

私は世界とセカイを、世界とセカイの規則を、世界とセカイの法規を理解すべきだ。

『良い。だが同じ愚かなる過ちを犯すものでない。』

指を画面の下から上へスコールする。

「聞こえるものを3つ挙げてください。」

静寂(せいじゃく)。

あれってひとつだな。後2つ。

他には何もないよ。

いや。

聞こえるよ…

叫び。
喚き。

あれって2つだよな?違う人からだから、違うと思う。あ、自分の呼吸と鼓動も聞こえる、3つだけのことを言っていたんだけれど。ボーナススコアが貰えるかな?

「呼吸をしてください。」

深い呼吸をする。凍った風が喉を切るのを感じる。
痛い。
鼻で呼吸するのを忘れてしまった。でもいいだろう。誰もが過ちを犯すんだし。今度はきっと忘れない。

できることは?することは?

快(こころよ)い調べを奏でられる、麗(うるわ)しい絵画を描(えが)ける、意味がある物語を書ける。

『意味などはない。しなければならないことは?するべきことは?』

わかりました。

指を画面の下から上へスコールする。

「匂いがするものを2つ挙げてください。」

鉄。
腐敗。

他のニオイがきっとあると思うが、この2つの匂いは一緒で良い匂いがしたんだ。良い、芳香のある混ざりだ。

「呼吸をしてください。」

深い呼吸を鼻でする。冷たい風が喉を切るのを感じる。
痛い。
でもあんなに酷くなかった。だいぶ落ち着いたと思う。さあ、最後のステップだ。

することは?

ワタシハスベテヲヒテイシ、シタイコトヲスル。

指を画面の下から上へスコールする。

「嬉しく感じさせるものを1つ挙げてください。」

これは…
…簡単だ。

***

この思いで微笑みを浮かべる。

そう、落ち着いたよ。

今はすべてが良い。
今はすべてが嬉しい。
今はすべてが楽しい。

今。

今は幸せだ。

「呼吸をしてください。」

する必要はあるか?このままで今のすべてがいいんだ。

今が良い。
今が嬉しい。
今が楽しい。

スマホの電源ボタンを一回押す。

何も見えない。
何も感じられなくて全てが感じられる。
全てが聞こえる。
深い呼吸を鼻でする。心地良い風が私と一つになることを感じる。

そして、風は幸せのニオイがする。

Author: Secrar vei Dyarnust (よしふみ)

Usually my proses are written in English first, then translated to Japanese. This is because my native language is English, which means I write more lively in English than in Japanese. On the other hand, my poetries are written in Japanese first, then translated to English. This is because Japanese is a language with multitudinous expressions about pulchritudinous and transcendent nature, relative to dastardly ostentatiously convoluted English.

Leave a Reply

